Research Coordinator of Cultural Evolution Lab


Pieter François (Coordinator of Cultural Evolution Lab) is the Dean and Fellow in Anthropology at St. Benet’s Hall, University of Oxford. His work focuses on travel and migration in the nineteenth century and on the evolution of social complexity, ritual and warfare. Together with Professor Peter Turchin (UConn) and Professor Harvey Whitehouse (Oxford) he founded the Seshat: Global History Databank in 2011. In 2013 he won the British Library Labs competition with his Sample Generator for Digitized Texts.

Director of the Centre for Anthropology and Mind

Harvey Whitehouse is an anthropologist whose research focuses on the evolution of social complexity. One of the founders of the cognitive science of religion, Harvey is well known for his theory of “modes of religiosity,” which explains how the frequency and emotional intensity of collective rituals influence the scale and structure of religious organisations. He is Professorial Fellow of Magdalen College at the University of Oxford, and Chair of Social Anthropology.

For more information about Harvey’s work, please visit

Core Team Members

Zahira Araguete-Toribio

Enrico Cioni

Michael Gantley

Steph Grohmann

Ben Johannes

Ken Kahn

Daniel Mullins

Henrike Neuhaus

Rosalind Purcell

Oliver Borna Radnik

Tom Sander

Chantel Summerfield

Edward Turner


Quentin Atkinson (University of Auckland), Marta Bartkowiak (Adam Mickiewicz University), Amy Bogaard (St Peter’s College, Oxford), Robert Brennan (Trinity College Dublin), Kostis ChristakisThomas Currie (University of Exeter), Kevin Feeney (Trinity College Dublin), Patrycja Filipowicz (Adam Mickiewicz University), Segrey Gavrilets (University of Tennessee), Eleni Hatzaki (University of Cincinnati), Michael Hochberg (Institut des Sciences de l’Evolution de Montpellier), Ian Hodder (Stanford University), Chris Kavanagh (University of Oxford), Arkadiusz Marciniak (Adam Mickiewicz University), Camilla Mazzucato (Stanford University), Gul Deniz Salali (University College London), Robert Thomson (Hokusei Gakuen University), Peter Turchin (University of Connecticut; The Evolution Institute), David Sloan Wilson (Binghamton University; The Evolution Institute), Masaki Yuki (Hokkaido University)